Taking Aim at Education

The second annual “Aiming for Education” Skeet Shoot fundraiser for the UACCM Foundation was held on Saturday, September 12, 2009 at Point Remove Hunting Lodge in Hattieville. The event raised approximately $6,500 for the Foundation.

10 gauge sponsors for the event included Winrock Farms and Point Remove Lodge with donations of $2,500 to the Foundation. The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, Ronnie Stell Trenching, and the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute of the University of Arkansas served as 12 gauge sponsors with a donation of $1,000 each. Conway County Regional Water District, Petit Jean State Bank, and Regions Bank of Morrilton were 16 gauge sponsors, with donations of $500 each. 20 gauge sponsors for the event included Entergy Arkansas, Koontz Electric, and Roberson Tire with donations of $250 to the Foundation. .410 gauge sponsors included Academy Sports and Outdoors, Birkner Brothers Limousin, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Pamela Brownlee, Representative Johnny Hoyt, and State Farm Insurance, each pledging a donation of $100. Coca-Cola of Morrilton served as beverage sponsor, and Ducks Unlimited was the youth trap shoot sponsor. Other donors included Ameristep, Cabela’s, The Duck Commander, Ducks Unlimited, Thermacell Mosquito Repellant, and Walmart of Morrilton. The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission served as the ammunition sponsor.

“Aiming for Education” consisted of 13 three-person skeet shooting teams and a Ducks Unlimited Greenwing youth trap shoot contest with 15 youth participants. Door prizes were given out during the day, and expert marksman Andy Miller provided entertainment in the form of a shooting exhibition during the event. A catfish dinner provided by Point Remove Lodge rounded out the event.

The official winners of the tournament were as follows:

First place, First flight— Jake Corbin of Belleville, Dusty Darr of Dardanelle, and Mike Darr of Dardanelle

First place, Second flight—Dustin Combs of Russellville, Nick Thompson of Russellville, and Justin Rickman of Conway

8 to 10 year-old trap shoot—First place—Sam York of Morrilton

11 to 14 year-old trap shoot—First place—Will Stewart of Shirley

“Top Gun” Winner—Mike Darr of Dardanelle

Winning team members of the first and second flights each received a plaque, Under Armour provided by Roberson Tire, and a deluxe gun cleaning kit provided by Ducks Unlimited. The “Top Gun” of the individual contest received an engraved plaque and a deluxe gun case provided by Cabela’s. Winners of the youth trap shoot competition received plaques, a two-man bench from Ameristep, and shooting targets.

The UACCM Foundation, which is comprised of a volunteer board of directors, oversees the various fundraising activities undertaken on behalf of the college as well as the management and allocation of the funds received. Foundation Board members include Judd Adams, Diana Arn, Bill Brice, Mona Kay Boyle, Pam Brownlee, Doug Cahill, Mary Clark, Sandy Davies, Edward Lee Eddy, Lane Housley, Allen Lipsmeyer, Les Miller, Rich Moellers , Amber Murphy, Mary Newsome, Beverly Parks, Raye Pearce, Terry Resecker, Aaron Spivey, Amanda Young, Rhonda Trowbridge, and Steve Trowbridge.

The next scheduled Foundation event is the eighth annual “Just Desserts” fundraiser, scheduled for Thursday, October 15. Go to www.uaccm.edu for “Just Desserts” sponsor and ticket information.


Popular posts from this blog

Student Onboarding Due March 25

UACCM Eclipse Parking

Get to know Miss UACCM 2023