Showing posts from February, 2007

Industry Leaders Announce Petroleum Technology Scholarship Recipients

Fayetteville Shale Scholarship Fund Awards $15,000 to UACCM Students  Several students in the new UACCM petroleum technology program are getting a helping hand as they study to begin a new career in Arkansas’ oil and gas industry. Thanks to the Fayetteville Shale Scholarship Fund, 15 area students are receiving $1,000 scholarships to help pay for tuition, fees and books.    Representatives from some of the largest companies in Arkansas’ natural gas industry were on hand on February 21 to announce the inaugural beneficiaries of the group’s new scholarship program.  Awards were made to students based on grade point average and financial need.  The scholarships are for $500 each semester, renewable for the fall and spring semester as long as a minimum 2.5 grade point average is maintained.  Scholarship winners were selected by the UACCM scholarship committee.   Students receiving scholarships include: UA System Pres. Dr. B. Alan Sugg Timothy Blake - Plumerville Alan C. Dav

UACCM Board Members Attend Trustee Day

University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton Board of Visitors members Raye Pearce and A.O. Thompson recently attended a Trustee Day co-sponsored by the University of Arkansas Foundation, Arkansas State University System, Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges, the University of Central Arkansas, and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. The event, attended by approximately 150 people, was held to provide board members of higher education institutions the opportunity to communicate with legislators and learn more about the complex dynamics of higher education funding and operations.  Governor Mike Beebe (center) greets UACCM Board of Visitors members  Raye Pearce (left) and A.O. Thompson (right) The day began at the Next Level Events Center in Little Rock’s historic Union Station. Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB) Chairperson Kaneaster Hodges and AHECB member and Trustee Day Chair Dick Trammel opened the session with an official welcome and

UACCM Spring Enrollment Sets Record

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton has reported a record-setting enrollment of 1576 students for the spring 2007 semester, an increase of almost 2.5 percent above the spring 2006 semester. The official report was submitted to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) on the 11th class day.   Full-time students make up 64 percent of the student body. Thirty-six percent are considered part-time students, enrolled in courses ranging from 1 to 11 credit hours.  Students enrolled in technical, business, health, and service-related occupational programs account for 45 percent of the student body. Students pursing Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degrees, two-year degrees designed for university-transfer, also account for 45 percent of credit students. The remaining 10 percent are non-degree seeking students, undeclared majors, and concurrently enrolled high school students. The average age of total student enrollment is 25 years of age. Studen

Morrilton Literary Coterie Awards Scholarships

The Morrilton Literary Coterie, GFWC, has awarded scholarships to two Conway County residents enrolled at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton for the spring 2007 semester. Sarah Brown and Lori Lamb were each awarded $500 scholarships, which were funded by  the proceeds from the “Christmas Tour of Homes” held every December in Conway County. Brown, who resides in Morrilton, is a 2000 graduate of Morrilton High School. She is the daughter of Tina Brown and the late Stephen Brown. She is pursuing an Associate of Applied Science degree in business with an emphasis in accounting at UACCM. Lamb, who resides in Plumerville, is a 1988 GED recipient. She is married to Mark Lamb. She is pursuing an Associate of Applied Science degree in business with an emphasis in accounting at UACCM. She is a member of the student business organization Phi Beta Lambda. Lavonna Gregory, scholarship recipient Lori Lamb, Liz Goates,  and Geneva Sellers. Lavonna Gregory, schola

School Counts Initiative Officially Kicks Off

School Counts! Steering Committee member Patty Shipp addresses the crowd There’s something growing in Conway County. Representatives from the local secondary schools in Conway County, the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton and the local business community announced the Conway County  School Counts!  initiative at a news conference on Tuesday. The initiative promotes the value of education and gives every student in Conway County the opportunity to continue his or her education beyond high school. The  School Counts!  initiative will provide financial support to local high school graduates, resulting in a better-prepared workforce that will make Conway County more attractive to companies looking to expand or move into the area. For the past several years, students in grades nine through twelve in the county’s secondary schools have had the opportunity to participate in the  Arkansas Scholars  program. The  School Counts!  initiative is similar to the  Arkansas S

UACCM Nationally Recognized for Growth

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton has been recently ranked as one of the “Top 50 Fastest-Growing Public Two-Year Colleges in the United States” in the category of colleges with enrollments of 2500 or fewer students. In its size group, UACCM ranked number 32 on the national list published in the December 4, 2006 edition of  Community College Week , the nation’s weekly newspaper covering two-year colleges.  The publication based its rankings on analysis of U.S. Department of Education data from 1,138 public, two-year institutions regarding percent growth in headcount from fall 2004 to fall 2005. The data used was based on students enrolled in courses or programs that award degree credit. UACCM experienced a 15 percent increase in enrollment during this time period. The institution has experienced a 450 percent enrollment increase since it became a two-year college in 1991. UACCM Director of Institutional Advancement Mary Clark said, “We’re very honored to b