Showing posts from June, 2018

Pauline Cathcart Memorial Scholarship Now Available

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton is now offering the Pauline Cathcart endowed scholarship in memory of the late educator and World War II veteran. This is a $500 scholarship awarded each semester with priority given to students from Pope County and members of Connect Church in Russellville.  Pauline Cathcart Cathcart was born in Russellville on January 2, 1922. Over the next 95 years, she would go on to attend a beautician school, join the Women’s Army Corps, serve in Australia and the Philippines, graduate from Henderson State Teachers College and devote herself to education for 30 years before retiring in 1981. She understood the value of post-secondary education, and encouraged students to attend a two- or four-year college after high school.  Applicants for this scholarship must have at least a 2.0 GPA from high school or previously attended college, as well as a letter of reference from a current or past employer, teacher, administrator, or no

UACCM Announces Spring 2018 Honors Students

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton is proud to announce the Chancellor’s Scholars and Academic Honors lists of students for the spring 2018 semester. The Chancellor’s Scholars List recognizes full-time students who completed at least 12 college-level credit hours with a 4.00 grade point average. Students named as Chancellor’s Scholars follow (in alphabetical order by city): Atkins – Jeff Bourns, Joely Ennis, William Gipson, Jr.  Belleville – Sidney Ball Bigelow – Cici Argueta, Gracie Stane  Casa – Jonathan Powell Clinton – Caitlin Hill, Randy Hooten Colleyville – Alyssa Kim  Conway – Jordan Amerson, Sydney Black, Madeline Brodsky, Sarai Camarillo, Jefferson Caraig, Brandon Foiles, Sarah Fulmer, Tong Ha, Katherine Hinman, Laurelise Hubbard, Britney Jones, Deeanna Jones, Jacob Keck, Jeffrey Kemper, Sawyer Lagasse, Paola Lozano Ruiz, Perla Martinez, Allison May, Melodie Moore, Sarah Owen, Marissa Payne, Mattie Pham, Maggie Schichtl, Ca

UACCM, UCA Establish 'Bear Partners' Program

University of Central Arkansas President Houston Davis and University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton Chancellor Larry Davis signed a memorandum of understanding establishing the Bear Partners program during a ceremony on June 18 inside the Student Union on campus.  (L-R) UCA President Dr. Houston Davis and UACCM Chancellor Dr. Larry Davis (Back Row L-R) UCA Associate Provost for Instructional Support Kurt Boniecki, UCA Interim Provost & Executive Vice President Michael Hargis, UCA Board of Trustees Chair Joe Whisenhunt, UCA Board of Trustees Vice Chair Robert "Bunny" Adcock, UACCM Board of Visitors Chair Doug Brandon, UACCM Board of Visitors members Paulette Smith and Joe Canady The partnership gives UACCM students who are pursing an associate degree the opportunity to participate in campus activities and access to academic resources at UCA. “Both campuses are very strongly student-centered and focused on creating an environment emphasizing student succe

$14,000 Raised After 2018 'Links for Learning' Golf Tournament

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton Foundation’s 13th annual “Links for Learning” golf tournament raised $14,000 to help fund the college’s facility upgrades, new classroom equipment, professional development and scholarships. 34 teams participated in the fundraiser held May 22 at the Morrilton Country Club. Results from the tournament are as follows: Tom Floyd, Stephanie Wofford, Gary Mitchell - Rabbit Ridge Farms Team First Flight 1st place: Rabbit Ridge Farms – Stephanie Wofford, Tom Floyd, Gary Mitchell 2nd place: Magie Vet Clinic – Chris Magie, Scotty Campbell 3rd place: Petit Jean Meats – Adam Chadek, Rusty Hogan, John Chadek Second Flight 1st place: Agri- Co-Op Supply – Charlie Hamilton, Doug Stevens, Ron Sanders 2nd place: Entergy – Adam Ritter, Mason Talbert, Kevin Ballard 3rd place: Scott McKennon, Karen McKennon, Gary Childress Third Flight 1st place: Crow Construction– Paul Zimmerman, Jamie Zimmerman, Harold Andrews