Showing posts from December, 2008

Faculty Members Offer Educational Trip to London

UACCM world literature and art history instructors Gretchen Schol and Tina Lake are planning an educational trip to England for spring break in 2010. The trip is open to participants from the community as well as any students interested in literature, art, history, or religious pilgrimage. The 8-day trip will begin in London with visits to Windsor Castle, Big Ben, the Tower of London, Westminster Abbey and the British Museum and will include stops at the ancient site of Stonehenge, the Roman ruins at Bath, and the famed Canterbury Cathedral. For more information on the London trip or to sign up, contact Gretchen Schol at 501-977-2050 or at or Tina Lake at 501-977-2076 or Go to or call 1-877-485-4184. You can also visit EF Tours’ Parent/Student Web page and enter one of the following codes into the “Get started today” section in the lower right corner. Gretchen Schol’s Code: 676675 and Tina Lake’s Code: 658422 Travelers wh

UACCM Inducts New Honor Society Members

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton recently inducted 12 new members during a ceremony in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. The ceremony featured UACCM English Instructor Anita Fowler as the guest speaker prior to new members being officially inducted into the prestigious international honor society for two-year colleges. New members inducted from the area include Misty Burgess of Perryville, Connie Cates of Morrilton, Jessica Hartman of Solgohachia, and Tammie Shipp of Cleveland. Other inductees include Stephanie Abbott of Russellville, Daniel Brinker of Pottsville, Allison Cardin of Greenbrier, Kaylee Davis of Conway, Josh Hendricks of Benton, Alex Peebles of Conway, Stan Plummer of Conway, and Melissa Wilson of Quitman. Students who earn a grade point average of 3.50 or better on 12 or more credit hours are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, an

George Kress Foundation Contributes $20,000 to School Counts!

On Monday, Matt Szymanski, Vice President and General Manager of the Arkansas Kraft Division of Green Bay Packaging, Dave Cawein, Vice President and General Manager of the Fiber Resource Division and Pinecrest Lumber Division, and Miles Lacy, Vice President and Manager of Oil and Gas Programs, presented the Conway County  School Counts!  initiative a check for $20,000.  The presentation was made on behalf of the George Kress Foundation.  Green Bay Packaging was originally founded by George Kress.  The Kress Foundation was organized as a means of providing support to the communities in which the company operates.  Accepting the check were Todd Haynes, Chair of the  School Counts!  Finance Committee, and Steering Committee members Patty Shipp and Thomas Flowers.  The funds will be used to support the scholarship endowment fund. left to right, School Counts! steering committee members Todd Haynes, Patty Shipp, and Thomas Flowers. George Kress Foundation/Green Bay  Packaging repre