Showing posts from November, 2006

UACCM Students Inducted Into Honor Society

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton inducted nine new members during a ceremony on November 9, 2006, in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. New members inducted include Patricia Acquisto, Russellville; Jessica Atkisson, Conway; Kimberly Browning, Morrilton; Haley Kordsmeier, Morrilton; Ashleigh Lynn, Morrilton; Melissa McCrary, Conway; Aimee Walker-Atkinson, Russellville; Joshua Weatherly, Clinton; and Michael Wendel, Conway. Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is a prestigious international honor society for two-year colleges. Students who earn a minimum 3.50 grade point average after completing 12 credit hours at UACCM are invited to join this organization, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.   Through the Phi Theta Kappa organization, members have opportunities to receive transfer scholarships towards the completion of their education at a four-year institut

UACCM "Night of Luminaries" Rescheduled for December 12

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton’s Night of Luminaries originally scheduled for November 30 has been rescheduled for Tuesday, December 12 from 5:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. The date was changed due to the possibility of inclement weather.   The public is invited to visit UACCM and view approximately 1500 candle-lit paper bags illuminating the campus drive. The candle-lit paper bags have been individually decorated during the past several weeks by the kindergarten through sixth grade students enrolled in all elementary schools in Conway County, along with the Center for Exceptional Children.   Individuals attending the Night of Luminaries should enter the campus through the Bruce Street entrance on the east end of the college property. The official route will take vehicles behind the Kirk Building before passing the Science Building and the Technology II and Technology III Buildings. The route will continue west past the Fine Arts Building to the UACCM Plaza, wher

New Library Will Become Reality for UACCM

With the passage of  Referred Question 1, or ACT 1, “Arkansas Higher Education Technology and Facility Improvement Act of 2005,” during the November 7 election, the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton is one step closer to building a new library complex.    The “Arkansas Higher Education Technology and Facility Improvement Act of 2005” passed impressively with a favorable vote of 69 percent in Conway County, a figure that was reflected statewide. This Act will allow the Arkansas Development Finance Authority to issue up to $250 million in college savings bonds for much-needed improvement of technology and expansion of facilities in higher education. Overall, the bond sale will give $150 million to the state’s public institutions of higher education. The remaining $100 million will be used to refinance the existing bond issue from the 1989 College Savings Bond Act at an improved interest rate. Rather than increasing the annual bond payment, the state’s current annua

UACCM Outstanding Student, Alumni, Employees Recognized

The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton’s 2006 Academic All-Star, Outstanding Alumni, Outstanding Faculty Member, and Outstanding Staff Member were recently honored during the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges’ (AATYC) 18th Annual Fall Conference in Hot Springs. Academic All-Stars and Outstanding Alumni from each of the state’s 22 two-year colleges were honored during an awards brunch held on October 17. Gubernatorial candidates Mike Beebe and Asa Hutchinson were the featured speakers at the event. Each year, one student from each of the state’s two-year public colleges is selected to be a part of the AATYC Academic All-Star team. Applicants for this scholarship program must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or above with a minimum of 12 credit hours in pursuit of an associate degree. The recipient is also selected on the basis of academic achievement, recognition, honors, activities, leadership, community service and work experience. UACCM

UACCM Recieves Marketing and Public Relation Awards

UACCM Director of Institutional Advancement Mary Clark and Graphic Designer Trevor Mize recently attended the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) District IV regional conference held in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Lynn Goswick, director of district IV of the National Council for Marketing & Public Relations, presents Trevor Mize, UACCM graphic designer, with a Gold Medallion award for Outstanding Web site design. During the Medallion awards ceremony and banquet, Mize received a coveted Gold Medallion for Outstanding Web site Design, and the college also received a Silver Medallion in the category of Outdoor Advertising for its billboard located on I-40 near Conway. Clark was awarded a $250 professional scholarship award in recognition of her work in marketing and public relations. The scholarship was used to help offset travel expenses. Lynn Goswick, director of district IV of the National Council  for Marketing & Public Relations, presents Ma