UACCM Students Inducted Into Honor Society

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton inducted nine new members during a ceremony on November 9, 2006, in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. New members inducted include Patricia Acquisto, Russellville; Jessica Atkisson, Conway; Kimberly Browning, Morrilton; Haley Kordsmeier, Morrilton; Ashleigh Lynn, Morrilton; Melissa McCrary, Conway; Aimee Walker-Atkinson, Russellville; Joshua Weatherly, Clinton; and Michael Wendel, Conway.
Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is a prestigious international honor society for two-year colleges. Students who earn a minimum 3.50 grade point average after completing 12 credit hours at UACCM are invited to join this organization, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.  
Through the Phi Theta Kappa organization, members have opportunities to receive transfer scholarships towards the completion of their education at a four-year institution. While attending UACCM, PTK members also have many opportunities to enhance their educational experience through community service.
The Beta Eta Sigma members have adopted Bruce Street, which runs in front of the Morrilton campus. Each semester, the organization sponsors a Roadside Cleanup Day, during which members pick up trash along Bruce Street and end the day with a cookout. This semester, the group is adopting twp "angels" from the Angel Tree Project. They will provide Christmas gifts for these children through funds raised throughout the year by their chapter.


Popular posts from this blog

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

Get to know Miss UACCM 2023