Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

PTK Fall Inductees (L to R):Maria Lopez, Hayley Stewart, Markus Applegate, Hans Heaton, Anna Marroquin, Elissa McCray
The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton inducted new members into the Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society of community and junior colleges, during a ceremony inside the college’s Fine Arts Auditorium on November 12. 

“As hallmarks of our efforts to earn this distinction, our members engage in not only our chapter, but also serve as models in academics, in service, and in engagement both on and off campus,” said Mathew Herrman, a UACCM speech instructor and chapter advisor. “Our members work together to set and achieve goals that prove we are not just ‘book smart,’ but fully committed to making needed changes to improve the community we serve.” 

The mission statement of Phi Theta Kappa is “to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.” To become a member, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree while maintaining at least a 3.5 GPA.

New Phi Theta Kappa members are listed here with their counties and hometowns:

Conway County
Robert Berry, Morrilton
Jessica Reid, Hattieville
Hayley Stewart, Morrilton
Jade Thomson, Morrilton

Faulkner County
April Bailey, Greenbrier
Duston Carroll, Conway
Janet C. Furrow, Conway
William Harville, Enola
Mary-Katelyn Lawrence, Vilonia
Elissa McCray, Greenbrier

Pope County
Markus Applegate, Russellville
Hans Heaton, Russellville
Mary A. Johnson, Atkins
Anna Marroquin, Dover

Van Buren County
Maria Lopez, Bee Branch
Kristen Reeves, Clinton


Go here to view all photos of the induction ceremony. 


Popular posts from this blog

UACCM Breaks Ground on Nursing and Science Center

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education

UACCM Announces Fall '23 Chancellor's and Dean's List