UACCM Employees, Student, Alumni Recognized

Two UACCM employees, a current student, and a graduate will be recognized during the Arkansas Community Colleges (ACC) fall conference in Little Rock. 

ACC is a non-profit association representing all twenty-two public community colleges in Arkansas. The ACC member colleges serve more than 80,000 students annually and award over 15,000 college credentials each year, including associate degrees and short-term training certificates. The organization holds a conference awards ceremony to present awards to the outstanding alumni, academic all-stars, outstanding faculty, and outstanding staff members selected by each two-year college.
All-Star Student: Sarah Fulmer

Sarah Fulmer has a nearly perfect academic record and represented her campus by delivering the Most Distinguished Extemporaneous Speech at Phi Theta Kappa’s regional convention. At the Oklahoma-Arkansas Region of Phi Theta Kappa Regional Honors Institute, she won first place in the same public speaking category. However, she’s more than just an excellent student. She is also an excellent member of her community. Her long-range goals are to receive a doctorate of political science and to be a professor, but she also wants to use her degree to “help students be better citizens, leaders, and members of the global community.” She wants to teach students “about the important role history plays in the modern world.”

The Academic All-Star award is designed to honor excellence in academics and leadership at the state’s community colleges. Applicants must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25 and possess a minimum of 12 credit hours in pursuit of an associate degree. Each of the state’s twenty-two community colleges presents an All-Star scholarship to one student annually, and the state’s public four-year universities also offer an academic transfer scholarship to those All Stars who plan to eventually pursue a bachelor’s degree.

woman in front of UACCM campus
Sarah Fulmer

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year: Jason Collins, network and systems coordinator

Jason has done an exceptional job of meeting the demands of the college's I.T. department. He goes above and beyond and is always friendly and accommodating. Jason has worked long hours and taken on a myriad of additional duties in order to facilitate changes in the department. He has been a breath of fresh air. He has worked at UACCM since 2017.

Portrait photo of a man
Jason Collins
Outstanding Faculty of the Year: Terry Cleaver, surveying instructor

Terry Cleaver is in his 17th year as an instructor of surveying at UA Community College at Morrilton. His background is in private business as he owned and operated his own practice in Morrilton, where he still resides. Terry graduated from Petit Jean Vocational Technical School (now UACCM) in surveying and drafting, has a BSE from the University of Arkansas, and is a licensed professional surveyor. He also currently serves as the vice chairman of the Faculty Senate, is president-elect of the Arkansas Society of Professional Surveyors, and is the County Surveyor for Conway County. He has worked at UACCM since 2002. 

portrait photo of a man
Terry Cleaver

Alumni of the Year: Demetrious Jordan, teller at First Security Bank, Conway

Demetrious Jordan was the top male student in high school at West Helena. He hoped to attend college, but while working two jobs, he survived a serious wreck that left him injured and broke. After a time of homelessness, he was accepted to a shelter in Conway. Then, he enrolled at UACCM and began college as a homeless student. He graduated with honors.  He transferred to UCA. He graduated Magna Cum Laude. Jordan now works at First Security Bank in Conway and enjoys giving motivational talks to youth. He is applying to graduate school and plans to study social work.

Learn more about Jordan's story here.   

man at standing by window at the Workforce Training Center
Demetrious Jordan


Popular posts from this blog

Student Onboarding Due March 25

UACCM Eclipse Parking

Get to know Miss UACCM 2023