UACCM Honors Top Students

woman and man on stage, holding a certificate
Drafting instructor Kristen Karetov and student Timothy "Will" Church

The year's most outstanding students at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton were honored at a Student Recognition Awards Ceremony, an annual gathering of faculty, staff, and families joining students to celebrate their accomplishments.

Every department nominates students to receive awards based on academic excellence in their field of study. Awards are also given from the UACCM Student Activities and the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society to outstanding students for their engagement at the college community and organization. A student ambassador is also selected as Ambassador of the Year.

During the ceremony, a representative from each department presents the award to the student, while comments about their achievements written by faculty and staff are read aloud. Darren Jones, vice chancellor of student services, pressed the importance of the annual ceremony for the college and student life. 

“The student recognition ceremony provides an opportunity to celebrate our best and brightest students," Jones said. "The students receiving an award have done great things at UACCM in and out of the classroom and are deserving of the recognition and the outstanding comments from our great faculty and staff.”

Those recognized are as follows by the department with their hometown:

Department of Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Technology

Randal L. Edwards, Center Ridge

Warren G. Schleiff, Conway

Department of Automotive Service Technology

Clay Brewer, Pangburn

Department of Business

Gabriela Carbajal, Russellville

Shane Hillis, Russellville

Andrea Mathes, Plumerville 

Department of Business Transfer

Madeline Brodsky, Conway

Department of Computer Information Systems Technology 

Tammy Spires-Wescott, Springfield

Department of Drafting

Timothy “Will” Church, Conway

Department of Early Childhood Development

Wipapattara Chantha, Conway

Department of Education

Kirstan Jordan, Conway

Hayden Pearce, Conway

Department of English

Jade Landrum, Russellville

Department of History and Social Science

Jeanette Echavarria-Herrera, Conway

Maizey Harper, Shirley

David Wiggins, Conway

Department of Industrial Mechanics and Maintenance Technology

Richard ‘Dub’ Junyor, Greenbrier

Jacob Keck, Cabot

Department of Mathematics

Bradley Cormell, Conway

Ky Sartin, Greenbrier

Robert C. Teal, Conway

Department of Nursing

Heidi Doucette, Dardanelle

Ashley Newton, Greenbrier

Department of Nutrition

Mary Laura Reece, Vilonia

Department of Science

Anna Marroquin, Dardanelle

Peter Woodson, Conway

Lia York, Conway

Department of Speech

Sarah Fulmer, Conway

Michael Gant, Conway

Department of Surveying

Kirsten S. Wood, Morrilton

Department of Welding Technology

Joseph Brasko, Hattieville

Phi Theta Kappa

Kristen Gipson, Atkins

David Wiggins, Conway

Student Activities Board

Baptist Collegiate Ministry

Student Ambassador

Benjamin Cathcart, Mayflower


Popular posts from this blog

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

Get to know Miss UACCM 2023