UACCM Adult Education Expands To New Counties

As of July 1, the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton will now oversee Adult Education operations in a four-county service area consisting of Conway, Perry, Faulkner and Van Buren counties. After a bidding process that ended March 31, UACCM will now operate facilities in the cities of Conway and Clinton, as well as Morrilton and Perryville.

Conway Adult Education courses started on July 12, with hours from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. on Monday through Thursday. Beginning July 31, those hours will change to 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Monday through Friday. These same hours apply to the Clinton and Morrilton sites as well. The UACCM Adult Education Center in Perryville is expected to start classes on August 14, and classes will be offered Monday through Thursday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

While the Conway and Clinton facilities will both offer night classes beginning August 15 from 4:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays, the Morrilton facility will only offer night classes during those hours on Tuesdays.

All instruction at any UACCM Adult Education Center is free of charge. Each facility offers various programs, including adult basic education, English Language Learners (ESL), college prep, and Workforce Alliance & Growth in the Economy (WAGE) — a series of stackable certifications in partnership with local businesses and industries to prepare participants for workforce careers. GED testing is also available for a discounted fee of $16. Students who complete the GED program will receive a tuition waiver scholarship for a three-hour college class at UACCM, and may also be eligible for a renewable full tuition scholarship to the college for three semesters.

UACCM Adult Education Centers serve anyone 18 years of age or older, and students can start classes at any time throughout the year. There is an open entry and exit policy at all four locations.

Contacts for UACCM Adult Education Centers:

Conway & Perry Counties:
Denise Hamby
600 North St. Joseph St., Morrilton, AR 72110 & Max Milam Library – 609 Aplin St., Perryville, AR 72126
(501) 215-4904

Faulkner County:
Michelle Horton
125 Center St., Conway, AR 72034
(501) 450-4810

Van Buren County:
Erica Freeman
100 Success Drive, Clinton, AR 72031
(501) 754-6554


Popular posts from this blog

UACCM Announces Advancement and Development Changes

Fillippino Named UACCM Dean of General Education

Beck Named Outstanding Alumni of the Year