2010 PTK Inductees Announced

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at UACCM recently inducted 19 new members during a ceremony in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. The ceremony featured guest speaker and UACCM employee Bobbi Yarbrough who spoke to new members about the challenges of maintaining excellent grades in college while meeting obligations of family and full-time work.

New members inducted include:
  • Conway/Perry counties: Tommy Joe Cothern of Morrilton, Cher-Ann Barnett of Houston, Kenneth Fugate of Morrilton, and Stephanie Yancey of Springfield
  • Faulkner County: Bethany Ahne of Conway, Brittany Hand of Vilonia, Samantha Porter of Conway, Shawna Shannon of Greenbrier, and Tiffany Sutton of Greenbrier
  • Pope/Yell counties: Kayla Bumgarner of Danville, Shanta Cecil of Dardanelle, Veo Condley of Atkins, Glen Henke of Atkins, April Hudson of Dover, Jamie LaGrange of Atkins, and Sharon Metzer of Dover
  • Lonoke County: Carlton Hodge and Ethan Frazier of Cabot
  • Van Buren County: Brenda Parker of Alread
Students who participate in Phi Theta Kappa have the opportunity and are encouraged to join in community service projects. UACCM group members are involved in several projects and have adopted Bruce Street in Morrilton, where the group sponsors a roadside cleanup day each semester. Additionally, the group uses money raised throughout the year by their chapter through fundraisers including the PTK recycling program to support other community projects and scholarships for future students.

Students who earn a grade point average of 3.50 or better on 12 or more credit hours are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany. The purpose of the organization is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students by providing opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Congrats, guys!


Popular posts from this blog

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony