Students and Employees Win Big

Art Scholarships Awarded
Two UACCM students were recently awarded scholarships to attend four-day “Art Escapes” workshops offered through the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute of the University of Arkansas System (WRI). Sarah Conine and Wesley Montgomery, both of Conway, were awarded the scholarships based on recommendations they received from UACCM Fine Arts Instructor Tina Lake. The scholarships hold a value of up to $320 each.

During “Art Escapes,” the students refreshed their creative spirit and enriched their artistic skills by participating in workshops taught by working artists, including 16 hours of instruction, assistance from the artist, and critique. The workshops were held November 5 through 8 at WRI on Petit Jean Mountain. Conine and Montgomery are currently pursuing associate of arts degrees in general education with programs of study in art. Upon graduation from UACCM, both students plan to transfer to the University of Central Arkansas to pursue bachelor’s degrees in art.

Employees, Publications Win at Conference

UACCM Director of Public Relations and Marketing Mary Clark and Program Coordinator for Information and Public Relations Jacob Ward, both of Russellville, recently attended the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) District IV regional conference in San Antonio, Texas. During the conference luncheon, Mary Clark was presented the award as the 2009 NCMPR District IV Communicator of the Year. One of the most celebrated awards given to an NCMPR member, the Communicator of the Year Award honors a two-year college marketing professional who has demonstrated special leadership and ability in college communications. It is awarded annually in each of NCMPR's seven districts, and district recipients automatically become a nominee for the national award, which is presented at the national conference.

Clark said, “I’m humbled and honored to receive this award from an organization whose members I deeply admire and respect. NCMPR has been one of the greatest professional resources I have had throughout my career. I want to also express my gratitude to my UACCM colleagues Trevor Mize, Jacob Ward, and Kristi Strain for their invaluable support and assistance.”

During the conference awards ceremony, UACCM received the Silver Medallion for Web Site Design and the Bronze Medallion for Social Marketing. Ward was also presented a $500 scholarship to help defray conference costs during the ceremony. There were 371 entries in the Medallion Awards competition this year from the approximately 100 member colleges in District IV, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, and Wyoming.


Popular posts from this blog

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education