UACCM Inducts New Honor Society Members

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton recently inducted 12 new members during a ceremony in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. The ceremony featured UACCM English Instructor Anita Fowler as the guest speaker prior to new members being officially inducted into the prestigious international honor society for two-year colleges.
New members inducted from the area include Misty Burgess of Perryville, Connie Cates of Morrilton, Jessica Hartman of Solgohachia, and Tammie Shipp of Cleveland. Other inductees include Stephanie Abbott of Russellville, Daniel Brinker of Pottsville, Allison Cardin of Greenbrier, Kaylee Davis of Conway, Josh Hendricks of Benton, Alex Peebles of Conway, Stan Plummer of Conway, and Melissa Wilson of Quitman.
Students who earn a grade point average of 3.50 or better on 12 or more credit hours are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany. 
Students who participate in Phi Theta Kappa have the opportunity to join in community service projects. The Beta Eta Sigma members have adopted Bruce Street, which runs in front of the Morrilton campus. Each semester, the organization sponsors a Roadside Cleanup Day, during which members pick up trash along Bruce Street. Additionally, the group uses money raised throughout the year by their chapter through fundraisers including “The Write Stuff” writing contest to support other community projects and scholarships for future students.


Popular posts from this blog

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education