Pediatric Cancer Survivors, Now UACCM Students, Receive CARTI Kids Dennis Jungmeyer Scholarships

University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton students Meagan Aitchison and Amy Garret are among 19 pediatric cancer survivors selected this year to receive CARTI Kids Dennis Jungmeyer Scholarships valued at $2,500 each and awarded by the CARTI Foundation in Little Rock. 
Presented annually to current or former CARTI pediatric cancer patients, the scholarships are named in honor of cancer survivor and CARTI Foundation Board director-emeritus Dennis Jungmeyer of North Little Rock. Jungmeyer is a co-founder of the CARTI Kids Golf Classic, proceeds of which benefit CARTI Kid programs and activities. Established in 1986, the tournament has since raised more than $2 million.
Pediatric cancer survivor and UACCM student Meagan
Aitchison received the Dick Lankford Memorial
Fellowship Award and a $2,500 Dennis Jungmeyer
Scholarship at a special presentation ceremony held
 June 25 at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion. Pictured,
 from left: Dennis Jungmeyer, award sponsor
representative Jack Lankford, Meagan Aitchison and
First Lady Ginger Beebe. (Photo by Kelly Quinn.)
Aitchison was diagnosed with medulloblastoma at the age of 12. A graduate of Greenbrier High, she is the daughter of Jamie & Brooks Aitchison of Greenbrier. 
Diagnosed with a Wilm’s Tumor at the age of two, Garrett is a recent graduate of Heber Springs High. She is the daughter of Mary and Butch Garrett of Quitman. 
Aitchison also received recognition as the recipient of the Dick Lankford Memorial Fellowship Award, an award sponsored by the late Lankford’s family and presented to a Jungmeyer Scholar expressing a career goal in the field of radiology.
In addition to Aitchison and Garrett, other 2008 Jungmeyer Scholarship recipients are: Miranda Baird, of Fayetteville; Morgan Butler, of Hope; Zykeya Butler, of Ruston, LA; Lauren Crook, of Benton; Ben Dalton, of Sherwood; Amelia Floriani, of Malvern; Alex Giannavola, of Little Rock; Ethan Helm, of Mabelvale; Ryne Johnson, of Maumelle; Adrian Landis, of Fouke; Kevin Leon, of Siloam Springs; Archie Lester, Jr., of West Memphis; Eli Lindsey, of Casscoe; Celso Medina, of Fort Smith; Clayton Mitchell, of Paragould; Patty Morris, of Berryville; and Jessica Odle, of Little Rock.
Incoming UACCM freshman Amy Garrett, of
 Quitman, is one of 19 pediatric cancer
survivors selected to receive Jungmeyer
 Scholarships valued at $2,500 each and
presented annually by the CARTI Foundation.
 (Photo by Kelly Quinn.)
Scholarship recipients were honored at a special presentation ceremony held June 25 at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock. First Lady Ginger Beebe assisted Jungmeyer in presenting scholars with their awards. 
“To the Jungmeyer Scholars of 2008, we offer not only our congratulations, but also our admiration and appreciation,” said Rick Fleetwood, chairman of the CARTI Foundation Board of Directors, while addressing the audience during the presentation ceremony. 
“You have already faced some of the most difficult obstacles life can present, and you have learned to use your experiences to encourage and inspire others,” said Fleetwood. “You have every right to be proud of yourselves not only as scholars, but as survivors. And we appreciate you allowing us to share in a portion of that pride.” 
CARTI is a nonprofit radiation therapy center with facilities located in Little Rock on the St. Vincent, Baptist Medical Center and UAMS campuses, and in Conway, Mountain Home, North Little Rock and Searcy. The CARTI Foundation was incorporated in 1983 as a non-profit organization to assist CARTI in meeting the current and future needs of Arkansas cancer patients and their families. 
For more information, visit    


Popular posts from this blog

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education