Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members

The Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton recently inducted 33 new members during a ceremony in the UACCM Fine Arts Auditorium. New members inducted include Jordan Ahne of Conway, Amanda Allred of Morrilton, Mary Barden of Greenbrier, Adrienne Beck of Solgohachia, James Bevier of Morrilton, Keleigh Blevins of Greenbrier, Tammy Brady of Conway, Amber Casley of Houston, Kathleen Conklin of Clinton, Chancie Dryer of Greenbrier, Shenna DuVall of Morrilton, William Ellis of Conway, Jacqueline Fisher of Morrilton, Steve Goocher of Dardanelle, Angela Holt of Plumerville, Dwanna Horton of Conway, Emily Kellar of Springfield, Lynde Lynch of Shirley, Dawn Messer of Fairfield Bay, Robert Mouser of Conway, Pele Passalaqua of Conway, Kimberly Peacock of Morrilton, Aida Quintero of Morrilton, Paula Riddle of Greenbrier, Brittany Selby of Conway, Vicki  Shadell of Perryville,  Janie Siebenmorgen of Conway, Keith Skaggs of Dardanelle, Mary-Catherine Smith of Greenbrier, Bobilu Tucker of Conway, Erin Wingo of Morrilton, Sally Wise of Conway, and Lindsay Wofford of Morrilton.
Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is a prestigious international honor society for two-year colleges. Students who earn a grade point average of 3.50 or better on 12 or more credit hours are invited to join the organization, which emphasizes the hallmarks of leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany. 
Students who participate in Phi Theta Kappa have the opportunity to join in community service projects. The Beta Eta Sigma members have adopted Bruce Street, which runs in front of the Morrilton campus. Each semester, the organization sponsors a Roadside Cleanup Day, during which members pick up trash along Bruce Street and end the day with a cookout. Additionally, the group uses funds raised throughout the year by their chapter to support other community projects.


Popular posts from this blog

Students Honored at 2024 Student Recognition Awards Ceremony

Four Decades of Gratitude: Newsome Reflects on 43-Year Career with UACCM

UACCM Awarded $2 Million ALIGN Grant to Boost Nursing Education